Grave Markers: Adam and Eve

Recently at work we got a batch of periodicals called “Markers”, by the Association for Graveyard Studies. They were all about grave markers, the making of gravestones, and cemetery history. I obtained enough photos from these books that I plan on making a few postings of them.

One section was exclusively stones with Adam and Eve imagery on them. Click any image to enlarge it.

adamandeve

Halifax, Nova Scotia, 1775/1796, Mary and Freke Bulkeley

adamevestone2

St. Quivox, Ayrshire, 1766-84, James McCalla

creepadameve

Logierait, Perthshire, 1784, Margaret Connacher (Alien and Eve I’d say, heh heh)

spooky

Logiealmond, Perthshire, 1764, James Nockel

masonadameve

Methven, Perthshire, 1748, children of John Watt. This is one of my favorites. Check out that masonic imagery!

If you have an interest in cemeteries and old gravestones, I would strongly recommend looking at the Markers publication. All of the issues we scanned are available for free on the Internet Archive, here: http://www.archive.org/search.php?query=creator%3A%22Association%20for%20Gravestone%20Studies%22

~ by Laura on September 17, 2009.

3 Responses to “Grave Markers: Adam and Eve”

  1. These are wonderful! And I’m cracking up because as I’m wrapping up my evening blogging, I’m listening to Alan Watt’s speak on death and why our society has such deep-rooted fears of it. Wild.

    Thank You.

    May All Beings Be Happy.

  2. Hey, I found your blog while searching on Google. I have a blog on online stock trading, I’ll bookmark your site.

  3. The grave of adam, is under the center of earth map, kaba. It shouldn’t be dug because they will see a giant under it. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9sA_RjUel68

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

